The wonderful people at SOUNZ have just released this performance of my Piano Trio ‘Sono’ composed in 2000 (an eternity ago) – filmed by Chris Watson.

My beloved Ashley Brown (cello) with guest musicians Stephen de Pledge (piano) and Ben Baker (violin) gave an incredibly warm and sensitive performance of this piece at a concert dedicated to women composers in celebration of the 125th anniversary of Woman’s Suffrage in New Zealand.

The piece it’s exactly as I’d hoped to hear it, full of space, depth and dimension. As a composer, you can only ever hope that the people who perform your music can sense what you really meant when you wrote it. The page can’t communicate it, no matter how many detailed instructions you leave.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s